Skip Navigation
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube GooglePlus

Home  >  About IEEE  >  Awards  >  Honors Presentations





IEEE, the world's largest technical professional association, honors the top minds in technology at its annual IEEE Honors Ceremony. The Honors Ceremony is designed to recognize technical professionals in a wide variety of disciplines for exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions that have made a lasting impact on technology, society, and the engineering profession.

Each year the Honors Ceremony is held in a different city, usually in conjunction with the IEEE June Meeting Series.


2014 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2014 Honor Ceremony Theme - Inspire

The 2014 IEEE Honors Ceremony will be held on Saturday, 23 August, at the RAI Convention Center, in conjunction with IEEE Sections Congress.

IEEE President Roberto J. de Marca will serve as the Master of Ceremonies along with co-presenter IEEE President-Elect Howard Michel. The theme of the ceremony is "Inspire."

The 2014 IEEE Medal of Honor will be presented to B. Jayant Baliga, Distinguished University Professor at North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA, along with 19 IEEE Medals and Awards at this year's Honors Ceremony.


top of page


2013 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2013 Honors Ceremony Theme Graphic

The 2013 IEEE Honors Ceremony was held Saturday, 29 June at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel, CA, USA. IEEE President Peter Staecker served as the Master of Ceremonies along with co-presenter IEEE President-Elect Roberto de Marca. The theme of the ceremony was "Accelerating Advances."

Irwin Mark Jacobs, founding Chairman and Chief Executive Emeritus of Qualcomm, Inc., was recognized for the IEEE Medal of Honor, IEEE's highest-level award. In addition, 19 medals and recognitions were presented at the Honors Ceremony, as well as the first-place winner of the IEEE Presidents' Change the World Competition.

The Honors Ceremony was streamed live via the network.

On 6 June 2013, Irwin Jacobs was honored at a special event at Qualcomm Headquarters and presented with his medal. This event was also streamed live via the network.


top of page


2012 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2012 IEEE Honors Ceremony theme graphicThe IEEE Honors Ceremony was held on Saturday, 30 June 2012 at the Westin Copley Place, Boston, MA, USA. IEEE President Gordon Day served as the Master of Ceremonies along with co-presenter IEEE President-Elect Peter Staecker. 

John L. Hennessy, President of Stanford University, received the IEEE Medal of Honor, IEEE's highest level award. View the complete list of 2012 awardees that were recognized at this year's IEEE Honors Ceremony.

The ceremony was streamed live via the network.'s Honors Ceremony Event Showcase features an interview with 2012 IEEE Medal of Honor recipient John L. Hennessy, as well as archived videos of past IEEE Honors Ceremonies.


top of page


2011 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2011 Honors Ceremony Graphic

The 2011 IEEE Honors Ceremony was held on Saturday, 20 August at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis, CA, USA, in conjunction with the 2011 Sections Congress. IEEE President Moshe Kam served as the Master of Ceremonies along with co-presenter IEEE President-Elect Gordon Day. 

Power of Persistence was the theme of the event. The program for the evening included the recognition of 27 recipients including the Medal of Honor recipient, Morris Chang.


top of page


2010 IEEE Honors Ceremony

The 2010 IEEE Honors Ceremony was held on Saturday, 26 June 2010, at Le Windsor, Montreal, Canada. Pedro Ray, IEEE President and CEO was this year's master of ceremonies.  

Andrew Viterbi, IEEE Medal of Honor recipient, and 26 other IEEE Medal and Recognition recipients were honored at the 2010 Honors Ceremony. Vint Cerf was recognized as the 2010 Eta Kappa Nu Eminent Member and the top three student team winners of the IEEE Presidents' Change the World Competition were also recognized at the Honors Ceremony.  

There were three new Awards presented for the first time in 2010 at the ceremony:

IEEE Medal in Power Engineering - Sponsored by: IEEE Industry Applications, Industrial Electronics, Power Electronics and Power & Energy Societies.
IEEE Medal for Innovations in Healthcare Technology - Sponsored by: IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society.
IEEE Medal for Environmental and Safety Technologies - Sponsored by: Toyota Motor Corporation. 


top of page


Past IEEE Honors Ceremony events (2009 - 2004)

Below view information on previous IEEE Honors Ceremony events. 


top of page


IEEE Awards Booklets

2014 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2014 IEEE Honors Ceremony