Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  Awards  >  Medals






Award information

The IEEE/Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) James Clerk Maxwell Medal, established in 2006, is named in honor of the 19th century Scottish mathematician and physicist, James Clerk Maxwell. Maxwell laid the foundations of electromagnetic wave theory, radio propagation, microwave techniques, and radio communications.

Sponsor: The IEEE Foundation

Presented to: An individual, team, or multiple recipients up to two in number

Scope: For groundbreaking contributions that have had an exceptional impact on the development of electronics and electrical engineering, or related fields

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, bronze replica, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: ground-breaking contributions with exceptional impact on the profession and the betterment of society, and significant technical and other achievements as evidenced by publications, patents, significant products, and other evidence, and quality of nomination.

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentations: IEEE Honors Ceremony and The Royal Society of Edinburgh's Royal Medals ceremony


top of page


Award recipients


top of page


Award committee members

  • David Wallace, Chair
  • Mary Jane Irwin
  • Sadahiko Kano
  • Fumitaka Ono
  • Ian Bryden
  • Sergios Theodoridis
  • Andrew Walker
  • Johannes Huber
  • Valerie Taylor


top of page


Awards Nomination Deadlines

2017 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2017 IEEE Medal of Honor Recipient Kees Schouhamer Immink video screenshot