Skip Navigation

Home  >  About IEEE  >  Awards


Award information

The IEEE Haraden Pratt Award was established in 1971 in honor of Haraden Pratt, then Director Emeritus of IEEE, who had given dedicated and distinguished service. As President, Treasurer, and then Secretary for 23 consecutive years, his service on the Board of Directors, including that of Director Emeritus, totaled 31 years.

Presented to: An IEEE Senior Member or Fellow

Scope: For outstanding service to the IEEE

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, illuminated certificate, honorarium, and travel expenses to the award ceremony.

Nomination deadline: 1 July

Basis: In the evaluation process for the IEEE Service Awards, contribuations an individual has made while an IEEE employee will not be eligible for the award, only volunteer contribuations are considered. The quality of the nomination will also be considered by the selection committee.

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Sponsor: IEEE Foundation

IEEE Foundation


top of page


Award nomination forms


top of page


Award recipients


top of page


IEEE Service Awards Committee members

  • Joseph Lillie, Chair
  • John W. Meredith, Past Chair
  • Donna L. Hudson
  • Gerald Jerry Peterson
  • Janina Mazierska
  • Hugh Rudnick
  • Francesca Maradei
  • Robert Fontana
  • David Kemp


top of page


Awards Nomination Deadlines

2016 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2016 Medal of Honor recipient David Forney in video screenshot

IEEE Awards Social Media

Follow and engage with IEEE on the following sites:

Follow on FaceBook   Facebook

Twitter   Twitter

LinkedIn   LinkedIn

Instagram   Instagram