Skip Navigation

Home  >  About IEEE  >  Awards  >  Recognitions






Award information

The IEEE Donald G. Fink Award was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in 1979.

The award is named in honor of Donald G. Fink, distinguished editor and author, who was a Past President of the IRE and the first General Manager and Executive Director of the IEEE.

This prize paper is awarded on recommendation of the Prize Papers/Scholarship Awards Committee and the Awards Board.

Sponsor: IEEE Life Members Fund

Scope: For the most outstanding survey, review, or tutorial paper published in the IEEE Transactions, Journals, Magazines, or in the Proceedings of the IEEE between 1 January and 31 December of the preceding year

Prize: Certificate and a cash honorarium

Nomination deadline: 1 July 2016. Papers submitted for this deadline must have been published between 1 January to 31 December 2015.

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At an IEEE-sponsored technical conference or symposium


top of page


Award nomination forms


top of page


Award recipients


top of page


IEEE Prize Papers/Scholarship Awards Committee members

  • Daniel J. Costello, Chair
  • Alexander J. Grant
  • Gerald T. Heydt
  • Rolf Johannesson
  • Thomas L. Marzetta
  • Urbashi Mitra
  • Carlos Silva-Cardenas
  • Chi K. (Michael) Tse


top of page


Awards Nomination Deadlines

2015 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2014 IEEE Honors Ceremony