Skip Navigation

Home  >  About IEEE  >  Awards  >  Recognitions






Award information

The IEEE Ernst Weber Managerial Leadership Award was established in 1985. The award was renamed 1996 to honor of Ernst Weber, first President of the IEEE, whose outstanding professional contributor exemplifies the true intent of this recognition.

Recipient selection is administered by the IEEE Recognitions Council through the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: IEEE

Presented to: An individual

Scope: For exceptional managerial leadership in the fields of interest to the IEEE

The leadership may be reflected in an executive role by attaining preeminent stature in the eyes of the engineering community as an individual whose inspirational, creative, and professional contributions have been extraordinarily successful, exemplary, and persuasive in pursuing the theory, planning implementation, direction of outstanding achievements, contributions, or service in the field of electrotechnology, and quality of nomination.

Prize: The award consists of a certificate and a crystal sculpture.

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Then the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony


top of page


Award nomination forms

Nominations are not being accepted at this time.


top of page


Award recipients


top of page


Award committee members

  • Mei-Kei Ieong, Chair
  • Werner Weber, Past Chair
  • Mutsuko Hatano
  • Leda Lunardi
  • Kern (Ken) Rim
  • Andries Jan (A.J.) Scholten
  • Jurriaan Schmitz
  • John S. Suehle
  • Akira Toriumi


top of page


Awards Nomination Deadlines

2016 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2016 Medal of Honor recipient David Forney in video screenshot