Skip Navigation
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube GooglePlus

Home  >  About IEEE  >  Awards  >  TFAS






Award information

The IEEE David Sarnoff Award was established in 1959 through agreement between the RCA Corporation and the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, and continued by the Board of Directors of the IEEE. In 1989, sponsorship of the award was assumed by the Sarnoff Corporation.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: Sarnoff Award Fund

Presented to: An individual or team up to three in number

Scope: For exceptional contributions to electronics

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: singular outstanding achievement, originality, recent impact (within five years) and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.


top of page


Award nomination forms

Nominations are not being accepted at this time.


top of page


Award recipients


top of page


Award committee members

  • Leda Lunardi, Chair
  • Roel Baets
  • April Brown
  • Mau Chung (Frank) Chang
  • Hiroshi Iwai
  • Yong-Hee Lee
  • Carmen Menoni


top of page