Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  Corporate  >  Ad Hoc

The IEEE Ad Hoc Committee on Activities in Europe was formed in 2013. Information related to the scope, membership, activity reports, and other information is provided here.

Access to Committee reports and related activity information is limited to members of the Committee, the IEEE Board of Directors, IEEE Directors-Elect, current IEEE President-Elect Candidates, members of the Management Council, and select staff.



Charge: The IEEE Ad Hoc Committee on Activities in Europe shall:

Develop and oversee implementation of strategies to provide greater support to and a unified advocacy voice for the nearly 60,000 IEEE members who live within the countries of the European Union (EU). 

Top priorities for the AHCAE for 2013 will include: 
  1. Identifying the common interests and needs of technologists in the EU, particularly those that span countries, and thus IEEE Sections
  2. Creating a greater sense of community among IEEE members in the EU
  3. Driving greater and more widespread consensus among EU technologists about technology policies that affect the lives of the European public, including, but not limited to, technical education, innovation, energy, information and communications, and health technologies
  4. Fostering dialogue between IEEE members in the EU and the appropriate governmental bodies of the EU, to enable members to more easily share their concerns and to enable the EU government to more easily obtain technologists’ input in matters of importance in IEEE fields of interest
  5. Maximize working relationships between IEEE and national engineering societies in Europe in mutual pursuit of common goals
  6. Develop a model for sustainable support of IEEE Activities in Europe
The committee will provide a progress report to the Board of Directors in June and recommendations in November 2013, which will include future organizational and resource requirements.



top of page


Committee membership

  • Marko Delimar, Chair
  • Martin J. Bastiaans
  • Chris Brantley
  • Cor L. Claeys
  • Gordon W. Day
  • Karin Iffour               
  • David Law
  • Matthew S. Loeb
  • Axel Richter
  • Gianluca Setti
  • Pete Sobel
  • Dirk Van Hertem


top of page


Committee reports

There are no activity reports.


top of page