Skip Navigation

Home  >  Conferences  >  Organizers

This page should be used as a reference for information on economic sanctions and embargoes, which impact various IEEE activities including membership, conferences, awards, publishing, and travel. IEEE may not be able to provide certain services to certain designated countries, entities, or individuals from those countries or entities.


Comprehensive Sanctions

There are broad prohibitions on all transactions with the countries and regions listed below.

Comprehensive Sanctions:

  • Crimea Region of Ukraine
  • Cuba
  • Iran
  • North Korea
  • Sudan
  • Syria

top of page


Selective Sanctions

There are prohibitions on all transactions with specific named individuals and entities related to, or located in, the countries or regions listed below.

Selective Sanctions:

  • Balkans
  • Belarus
  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Iraq
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Ukraine/Russia
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen
  • Zimbabwe  


 Inactive Sanctions Programs:

  • Burma (Myanmar) - sanctions program ended as of 7 October 2016
  • Cote d'Ivoire - sanctions program ended as of 14 September 2016
  • Liberia - sanctions program ended as of 12 November 2015 

top of page



Please address all questions about IEEE's OFAC-related policies and practices, and their application to a certain activity or situation, to or Stephanie Hong, Compliance Research Analyst in the Legal and Compliance Department, at


top of page