Skip Navigation

Home  >  Education  >  IEEE Eta Kappa Nu (IEEE-HKN)  >  Awards

The Distinguished Service Award was initiated in 1971 to recognize those members who have devoted years of service to Eta Kappa Nu (or IEEE-HKN), resulting in significant benefits to all of the society's members. The award is based on lifetime contributions to Eta Kappa Nu (or IEEE-HKN) and is limited to one recipient each year.

Deadline to submit applications: 25 May

Prize: Plaque


Award purpose

"Inspiration for the Award" dates back to 1939 when Maurice Carr, the founder of HKN, wrote, "Eta Kappa Nu grew because there always have been many members who were willing and eager to serve it loyally and unselfishly. I would like to see some form of recognition conferred upon members who have rendered such service to HKN."


top of page


Applying for the award

To nominate someone for this award, contact Committee Chair Mark Law.


top of page


Award history

Recent past recipients include:

  • 2014    Alan Willson
  • 2006    Quayne Gennaro
  • 2005    David Meyer
  • 2004    James A. D'Arcy
  • 2003    Robert F. Arehart
  • 2002    Alan Lefkow
  • 2001    Donald Christiansen
  • 2000    John A. Tucker
  • 1999    Thomas L. Rothwell
  • 1986    Marcus Dodson
  • 1985    Tony Gabrielle
  • 1981    Berthold Sheffield
  • 1979    W.T. Burnett
  • 1979    Paul K. Hudson
  • 1979    John E. Farley
  • 1979    Leyland A. Spangler
  • 1977    Everitt S. Lee
  • 1976    Larry Dwon
  • 1975    Carl T. Koerner
  • 1974    C. Holmes MacDonald
  • 1973    Clifford A. Faust
  • 1972    Roger I. Wilkinson
  • 1971    Alton B. Zerby

top of page