Skip Navigation

Home  >  Societies & Communities  >  Geographic Activities  >  Awards  >  Recipients





The awards and recognition program of the Member and Geographic Activities Board (MGA) is designed to promote, recognize, and reward excellence in promoting the interests of IEEE as reflected in the operations of MGA and IEEE geographic unit activities (Regions, Councils, Areas, Sections, Chapters, Affinity Groups, Student Branches, and Student Branch Chapters). The MGA awards and recognition program is administered by the MGA Awards and Recognition Committee (MGA ARC).


Call for nominations: IEEE MGA awards, recognizing outstanding IEEE volunteers: deadline 15 October

You can help recognize the efforts of outstanding volunteers by nominating individuals for one of the prestigious IEEE Member and Geographic Activities (MGA) Awards.  Each award has a unique mission and criteria and offers the opportunity to honor distinguished colleagues, inspiring teachers, and corporate leaders.

If you know someone who has made substantial regional IEEE volunteer contributions through innovative projects, exemplary leadership, service, or by fulfilling the goals as related to transnational activities, consider nominating them for one of the following awards:

Please visit the MGA Award Nomination web page to review the nominator guidelines and eligibility requirements, reference the step-by-step submittal instructions, and link to the portal for nominations.

The deadline for nominations is 15 October 2016 (for completed nomination form and two letters of endorsement).


top of page


Call for nominations: Friend of IEEE Member and Geographic Activities Awards

MGA presents Friend of IEEE Member and Geographic Activities Awards, which specifically recognize support provided to IEEE and its members in support of its goals, by firms, divisions of firms, or individuals. Nominators can submit individuals or organizations for Friend Awards, and awards can be earned at the Supporting or Sustaining level. Please complete the online award nomination form. There is no deadline for these awards; they can be distributed throughout the year.


top of page


2015 MGA Award recipients announced

At its 21 November 2015 meeting, the IEEE MGA Board approved the 2015 MGA Award recipients. The MGA Awards and Recognition Committee received many nominations recognizing the accomplishments of candidates whose contributions encompass the vision, mission, and goals of MGA. On behalf of the MGA Board and the MGA Awards and Recognition Committee, thank you to all the members who took the time to submit nominations.


top of page


MGA Outstanding Section Award Recipients announced

On 20 June 2015, the IEEE Member and Geographic Activities Board selected the following recipients of the 2015 MGA Outstanding Large, Medium, and Small Section Awards:

  • 2015 MGA Outstanding Large Section Award recipient is the IEEE Kerala Section from Region 10.
  • 2015 MGA Outstanding Medium Section Award recipient is the IEEE New Jersey Coast Section from Region 1.
  • 2015 MGA Outstanding Small Section Award recipient is the IEEE Nicaragua Section from Region 9.

Congratulations to the Kerala, New Jersey Coast, and Nicaragua Sections for being selected for these awards "for successful efforts in fulfilling the educational and scientific goals of IEEE for the benefit of the public by maintaining, enhancing, and supporting the Student Branches, Technical Chapters, and affinity groups within their geographic boundaries."

This year’s recipients, as well as previous recipients, are listed on the MGA Outstanding Section Awards web page. There is also a section of the page highlighting some of the 2014 calendar year activities of the recipients and nominees.


top of page