Skip Navigation

Home  >  Communities  >  Technical Activities





Many IEEE members have made enormous contributions to the success of IEEE Technical Activities (TA) over the years. Now, the IEEE Technical Activities Board is giving IEEE members a chance to recognize such colleagues through the new IEEE TAB Hall of Honor.

The TAB Hall of Honor honors those persons, living or deceased, who have made one or more major contribution(s) to IEEE Technical Activities. Contributions include the creation, development, or advancement of the technical objectives of IEEE. Objectives include the advancement of the theory and practice of electrical, electronics, communications, and computer engineering, as well as computer science, the allied branches of engineering, and the related arts, sciences, technologies and their application for the benefit of IEEE members worldwide, and for the general public.


2015 honorees

Roger Pollard

W. Kenneth (Ken) Dawson
For improving Publication Activities and Technical Activities Boards collaboration, initiating electronic publication distribution, and managing a challenging Information Technology upgrade.

Born in Quebec City, Ken Dawson earned a B.Sc.A. degree in Physics at Laval University in 1951, followed by a Masters and Ph.D. in Physics at Queens in 1955. Read more (PDF, 263 KB).

Wanda Reder

Bruce Eisenstein
For initiating the election of the Vice President, Technical Activities by IEEE Society members, improving reserve allocation, and creating the TAB Management Committee.

Bruce Eisenstein is an engineering educator serving as the Arthur J. Rowland Professor and Vice Dean of Engineering at Drexel University. He also consults on mobile communications and product liability. Read more (PDF, 184 KB).

Bob Hebner

Dr. Robert Hebner
For developing processes to support Emerging Technologies and to incubate new Technical Communities within IEEE Technical Activities.

Dr. Hebner is the Director of the Center for Electromechanics at the University of Texas at Austin. The Center teams with companies to get technology into the market. Current projects include improved hybrid vehicles, energy storage, Smart Grid, and microgrids. Read more (PDF, 251 KB).

Dr. Llord A. (Pete) Morley

Dr. Lloyd A. (Pete) Morley
For extraordinary leadership of IEEE Technical and Publication Activities, particularly contributions to the improvement and documentation of operations.

Dr. Morley received his B.S. and Ph.D. degrees in 1968 and 1972 from the University of Utah, both in mining engineering. His graduate work also included a course concentration in electrical engineering, and he worked in industry for over six years before finishing his degrees. Read more. (PDF, 172 KB).


top of page


2014 honorees

john vig

John Vig 
For improving operations and processes of the IEEE Technical Activities Board.

John Vig was born in Hungary. He immigrated to the USA in 1957, received his B.S. degree from the City College of New York in 1964, and his Ph.D. in Physics from Rutgers - The State University of New Jersey, 1969. Read more (PDF, 183 KB).


Evangelia Micheli-Tzanakou photo

Evangelia Micheli-Tzanakou (deceased 24 September 2012)
For creating technical communities and establishing IEEE as a worldwide leader in biometrics.

Professor Dr. Micheli-Tzanakou received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Physics at Syracuse University, NY, USA. Read more (PDF, 184 KB).


Gerard Henry Gaynor photo

Gerard Henry (Gus) Gaynor
For being the originator and founding editor of Today's Engineer magazine and for major advances in publications and IEEE Xplore® operations. 

Gus Gaynor, IEEE Life Fellow, brings experiences from a career that spanned the technical and management disciplines. Read more (PDF, 167 KB).

Saifur  Rahman photo

Saifur Rahman
For sustained contributions to quality improvement of IEEE publications and development of processes for diverse publication products.  

Saifur Rahman is the founding director of the Advanced Research Institute, at Virginia Tech, where he is the Joseph R. Loring professor of electrical and computer engineering. Read more (PDF, 72 KB).


top of page


2013 honorees

Roger Pollard

Roger Pollard (deceased 3 December 2011)
For leadership toward the creation of IEEE Xplore and fostering constructive relations between IEEE operating units.

Roger Pollard was born in London, England, in 1946. He received his technical education, graduating with the degrees of B.Sc. and Ph.D. in Electrical and Electronic Engineering at the University of Leeds, Leeds, UK. Read more (PDF, 149 KB).

Wanda Reder

Wanda Reder
For organizing, championing, and leading the IEEE Smart Grid effort, and establishing a sustainable model for subsequent new initiatives.

Wanda K. Reder is Vice President of Power Systems Solutions at S&C Electric Company, where she is responsible for studies, engineering, procurement, project management, construction, and field service. Read more (PDF, 178 KB).

Harold Flescher

Harold L. Flescher
For enhancing the ability of TAB/IEEE to support technical activities, particularly through better financial management.

Harold joined United Nuclear in 1963 as a nuclear physicist, performing military nuclear reactor design. In 1964 he joined Martin Company as a nuclear physicist, beginning his career in radiation effects, analyzing, testing, and designing military and space systems to operate in nuclear weapon and space radiation environments. Read more (PDF, 173 KB).

Ellen Yoffa

Ellen Yoffa
For transforming the TAB Society Review Committee through the adoption of new policies and processes to the benefit of societies and all of TAB.

Dr. Yoffa leads research in a spectrum of technologies at IBM’s TJ Watson Research Center from mobile to human language and image analytics to cybersecurity. Read more (PDF, 160 KB).


top of page



tab hall of honorThe nominee must have made contribution(s) to more than a single IEEE Society or Council. Sitting members of the 2015 IEEE Technical Activities Board and the recently deceased (less than one year) are ineligible. Members of the Selection Committee and IEEE staff are also ineligible.

There will be one class of inductees per year, with two separate recipient categories: recent contributions (within five years) and earlier contributions. Each category may have a maximum of three inductees per class.


top of page


Nominate for the TAB Hall of Honor

To make a nomination, download and complete the form (DOC, 58 KB) and email it to Paula Dunne (, IEEE staff. The nomination deadline is 15 April 2016.

For further information, please see Section 1.3 of the TAB Operations Manual (PDF, 2 MB).


top of page


IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award

An IEEE-level award, the IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award is "for distinguished service to the development, viability, advancement, and pursuit of the technical objectives of the IEEE."

More information is available on the IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award page.


top of page