The Technical Field Awards Council consists of a Chair, a Vice Chair, and the Chairs of the TFA Selection Committees. The IEEE Technical Field Awards are awarded for contributions or leadership in specific fields of interest of IEEE. They may be awarded annually when, in the judgment of the AB, suitable candidates are available.

Members and roles

Vincenzo Piuri


Michelle Effros

Vice Chair

Thomas Penzel

Chair, IEEE Biomedical Engineering Award Committee

Jacobus Swart

Chair, IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award Committee

Ricky Lee

Chair, IEEE Electronics Packaging Award Committee 

Arthur J. Krener

Chair, IEEE Control Systems Award Committee

Yahya Rahmat-Samii

Chair, IEEE Electromagnetics Award Committee

Lori Lamel

Chair, IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award Committee

Timothy N. Davidson Chair, IEEE Fourier Award for Signal Processing

Herman E. Maes

Chair, IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award Committee

Charlie Henville

Chair, IEEE Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award Committee

On hold

Chair, IEEE Masaru Ibuka Consumer Electronics Award Committee

On hold

Chair, IEEE Internet Award Committee

Kaushik Rajashekara

Chair, IEEE Richard Harold Kaufmann Award Committee

Jorge E. Fernandez Daher

Chair, IEEE Joseph F. Keithley Award in Instrumentation and Measurement Committee

Ljiljana Trajkovic

Chair, IEEE Gustav Robert Kirchhoff Award Committee

Leandros Tassiulas

Chair, IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award Committee

Dushan Boroyevich

Chair, IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award Committee

On hold

Chair, IEEE Daniel E. Noble Award for Emerging Technologies Committee

John R. Long

Chair, IEEE Donald O. Pederson Award in Solid-State Circuits Committee

On hold

Chair, IEEE Frederik Philips Award Committee

Chennupati Jagadish

Chair, IEEE Photonics Award Committee

Frank Park

Chair, IEEE Robotics and Automation Award Committee

James C. Bezdek

Chair, IEEE Frank Rosenblatt Award Committee

Chan Joshi

Chair, IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award Committee

Dr. Ling Liu Chair, IEEE Innovation in Societal Infrastructure Award Committee

Annette D. Reilly

Chair, IEEE Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award Committee

Ian Blake

Chair, IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award Committee

Hai “Helen”, Li

Chair, IEEE Teaching Award Committee
- IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award
- IEEE Undergraduate Teaching Award

Kiruba Sivasubramaniam Haran

Chair, IEEE Nikola Tesla Award Committee

Magdalena Salazar-Palma

Chair, IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award Committee

Dong Tan Chair, IEEE Transportation Technologies Award Committee