Skip Navigation

Home  >  About IEEE  >  Awards  >  Medals






Medal information

The IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal was established in 1976 by the IEEE Board of Directors, in commemoration of the centennial of the telephone's invention, to provide recognition for outstanding contributions to telecommunications.

The invention of the telephone by Alexander Graham Bell in 1876 was a major event in electrotechnology. It was instrumental in stimulating the broad telecommunications industry that has dramatically improved life throughout the world. As an individual, Bell himself exemplified the contributions that scientists and engineers have made to the betterment of mankind.

Presented to: An individual or team up to three in number.

Scope: For exceptional contributions to the advancement of communication sciences and engineering.

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, a bronze replica, a certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: value of contribution to communication among people, value of contribution to communication sciences and engineering, evaluation of contributor, evaluation of nominator and references, timeliness of recognition, and quality of nomination.

Nomination deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony


Nokia Bell Labs


top of page


Medal nomination forms


top of page


Medal recipients


top of page


Medal committee members

  • Andrea Goldsmith, Chair
  • Elza Erkip
  • Helmut Boelskei
  • Marco Ajmone Marsan
  • Valdemar C. Rocha
  • Arogyaswami Paulraj
  • Daniel Palomar
  • Thomas Richardson
  • Giuseppe Caire


top of page


Awards Nomination Deadlines

2016 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2016 Medal of Honor recipient David Forney in video screenshot