Medal information

The IEEE Frances E. Allen Medal was established in 2020 by the IEEE Board of Directors, and is named in honor of Frances E. Allen, computing pioneer in the compilers area and an IEEE and IBM Fellow. 

Presented to: An individual or to a team of recipients or multiple recipients up to three in number. 

Scope: For innovative work in computing leading to lasting impact on other fields of engineering, technology, or science.

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, a bronze replica, a certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: Impact on the profession and/or society, succession of significant technical or other contributions, leadership in accomplishing worthwhile goal(s), previous honors, and other achievements as evidenced by publications or patents or other evidence, and quality of nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 June

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Sponsor: IBM


Medal nomination form

Nominations will open in December 2020 for this medal.

Medal recipients

First presentation of recipient scheduled for June 2022.

Medal committee members

  • TBD (not yet available)