Medal information

The IEEE Richard W. Hamming Medal, established in 1986, is named in honor of Dr. Richard W. Hamming, who had a central role in the development of computer and computing science, and whose many significant contributions in the area of information science include his error-correcting codes.

Presented to: An individual or team, up to three in number

Scope: For exceptional contributions to information sciences, systems, and technology

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, a bronze replica, a certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: originality, breadth, impact on technology, patents/publications, and the quality of the nomination.

The scope includes information transmission, coding, storage, and recovery. Subject areas include information theory, coding theory, data communication, computer networks, data storage and retrieval, and image and speech understanding.

Nomination deadline: 15 June

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Sponsor: Qualcomm, Inc.

Qualcomm, Inc.

Medal committee members

  • Aylin Yener, Chair
  • Bruce Hajek, Past Chair
  • Erdal Arikan
  • Richard Baraniuk
  • Sueli Costa
  • Christina Fragouli
  • Stephen Hanly
  • Michael Luby
  • Leandros Tassiulas