Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  Awards  >  Medals






Medal information

The IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal was established in 1995 in honor of Jack S. Kilby, whose innovation was a monumental precursor to the development of the signal processor and digital signal processing. The award may be presented for outstanding achievements in signal processing. The achievement may be theoretical, technological, or commercial.

Presented to: An individual or team, up to three in number

Scope: For outstanding achievements in signal processing

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, a bronze replica, a certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: subject areas such as algorithms, architecture, and applications; theoretical, technological, or commercial achievements; patents/publications/products; generally recognized major technological advancement in the field of signal processing; quality of nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 June

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Sponsor: Texas Instruments, Inc.

Texas Instruments, Inc.


top of page


Medal nomination form


top of page


Medal recipients


top of page


Medal committee members

  • Alle-Jan van der Veen, Chair
  • G. Clifford Carter, Past Chair
  • Alejandro (Alex) Acero
  • G. Clifford Carter
  • Timothy Davidson
  • Paulo S. Diniz
  • Shoji Makino
  • Athina Petropulu
  • Minerva Yeung
  • Stephen Young


top of page


Awards Nomination Deadlines

2017 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2017 IEEE Medal of Honor Recipient Kees Schouhamer Immink video screenshot