Medal information

The IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications was established in 1999, in honor of Dennis J. Picard, whose lifetime of work at Raytheon Company helped make them a leader in tactical missile systems.

Presented to: An individual or group of not more than three in number

Scope: For outstanding accomplishments in advancing the fields of radar technologies and their applications

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, bronze replica, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: field leadership, contribution, originality, breadth, inventive value, publications, other achievements, society activities, honors, sustained impact, and quality of nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 June

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Sponsor: Raytheon Company

Raytheon Company

Medal committee members

  • Fauzia Ahmad, Chair
  • Chris Baker
  • Antionio De Maio
  • Krzysztof Kulpa
  • Yilong Lu
  • Willie Nel
  • Maria Rey
  • Jennifer Watson
  • Simon Watts