Medal information

The IEEE Medal in Power Engineering was established in August 2008.

Presented to: An individual

Scope: For outstanding contributions to the technology associated with the generation, transmission, distribution, application, and utilization of electric power for the betterment of society

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, bronze replica, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: impact on the profession and the betterment of society; succession of significant technical or other contributions; leadership in accomplishing worthwhile goal(s); previous honors; other achievements as evidenced by publications, patents, or other evidence; and quality of nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 June

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Sponsor: IEEE Industry Applications, Industrial Electronics, Power Electronics, and Power & Energy Societies

IEEE Industry Applications Society     IEEE Industrial Electronics Society     IEEE Power Electronics Society    

Medal committee members

  • Ron Shu-Yen Hui, Chair  
  • Mariesa Crow, Past Chair
  • Frede Blaabjerg
  • Akira Chiba
  • Makoto Iwasaki
  • Germano Lambert-Torres
  • Yan-Fei Lui
  • Maryam Saeedifard
  • Zi-Qiang Zhu