Medal information

The IEEE Simon Ramo Medal was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in 1982. It is named in honor of the distinguished engineering contributions of Dr. Simon Ramo, former Vice Chairman of the Board and Chairman of the Executive Committee of TRW, Inc.

Presented to: An individual or multiple recipients up to three in number

Scope: For exceptional achievement in systems engineering and systems science

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, bronze replica, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: significance of achievement in systems engineering and systems science or for technical leadership in a major innovative engineering project within the scope of the IEEE, originality, breadth, impact on technology, patents/publications, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 June

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Sponsor: Northrop Grumman Corporation

Northrop Grumman Corporation

Medal committee members

  • Tariq Samad, Chair
  • John Baras
  • Roberto de Marca
  • Dov Dori
  • Maria Pia Fonti
  • Ian Postlewaith
  • Prahlada Ramarao
  • Sarah Spurgeon
  • Margot Weijnen