Skip Navigation
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube GooglePlus

Home  >  About IEEE  >  Awards  >  Recognitions






Award information

In 1986 the Board of Directors established the IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award.

The Award is named in honor of Dr. Richard M. Emberson, whose 23-year association with the Institute at both the staff and volunteer levels, including Director of Technical Services, Executive Director and General Manager, and Member of the Board of Directors, exemplified loyal and dedicated service to the Institute, especially its Technical Activities.

Sponsor: IEEE Technical Activities Board

Presented to: An IEEE Member

Scope: For distinguished service to the development, viability, advancement, and pursuit of the technical objectives of the IEEE

NOTE: For the Emberson Award only volunteer contributions are to be considered, not contributions made while an IEEE employee. The quality of the  nomination will also be considered by the selection committee.

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, illuminated certificate, honorarium, and travel expenses to the award ceremony.

Nomination deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Then the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony


top of page


Award nomination forms


top of page


Award recipients


top of page


IEEE Service Awards Committee members

  • John W. Meredith, Chair
  • Celia L. Desmond
  • Donna L. Hudson
  • Janina Mazierska
  • Hugh Rudnick
  • Magdalena Salazar-Palma
  • Wai-Choong (Lawrence) Wong
  • Francesca Maradei
  • Joseph Lillie


top of page


Awards Nomination Deadlines

2014 IEEE Honors Ceremony

2014 IEEE Honors Ceremony