The IEEE Eric Herz Outstanding Staff Member Award was created in 2005 by the IEEE Board of Directors, and is named in honor of Eric Herz, who has had a long and illustrious career as both a volunteer and staff member of IEEE. Mr. Herz has served in a wide variety of volunteer positions from the Sections to the Board of Directors. Mr. Herz has also served as the IEEE General Manager and Executive Director and contributed significantly to the growth and reputation of IEEE.

Award information

Any IEEE volunteer may nominate or endorse a candidate for the IEEE Eric Herz Outstanding Staff Member Award with the following exceptions:

  • IEEE Board of Directors
  • IEEE Awards Board
  • Herz Award selection committee members
  • individuals on the Annual Election ballot

IEEE staff and self-nominations are not permitted.

The IEEE Awards Board shall recommend candidates for the IEEE Eric Herz Outstanding Staff Member Award to the Board of Directors for final approval.  The IEEE Eric Herz Outstanding Staff Member Award shall be administered by the Awards Board.

The award may be awarded on an annual basis when a suitable candidate is nominated.

Sponsor: IEEE

Presented to: A present or past full-time staff member of the IEEE with at least ten years of service

Scope: For sustained contributions by a present or past full-time staff member

Prize: The award consists of a certificate, honorarium, and travel expenses to attend the presentation of the award.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: substantial impact on the goals and objectives of the IEEE while a staff member, substantial impact on the success of a number of IEEE initiatives, leadership in a number of staff activities, and quality of nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Then the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the last IEEE Board of Directors Meeting of the year

Award committee members

  • Jose B. Cruz, Chair
  • M. Brian Blake
  • Lyle D. Feisel
  • Takako Hashimoto
  • Allison Marsh
  • Tania L. Quiel
  • Saurabh Sinha