Award information

The IEEE Theodore W. Hissey Outstanding Young Professional Award was established in 2017.

The Recipient selection is administered by the IEEE Recognitions Council through the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: The IEEE Photonics Society, the IEEE Power & Energy Society, and the IEEE Young Professionals Committee   

Scope: For contributions to the technical community and IEEE fields of interest.

Eligibility: Impact on the profession and/or society; succession of significant technical or other contributions; leadership in accomplishing worthwhile goal(s); previous honors, and other achievements such as publications or patents or other evidence; track record of volunteer contributions to IEEE; and quality of nomination. Previous IEEE Medal recipients are not considered eligible candidates. Individual must be a member of IEEE.

Candidate must be an IEEE member and Young Professional as defined by the IEEE (within 15 years of first academic degree). Self-nominations are not permitted.

Prize: The award consists of a certificate and crystal sculpture.

Nomination deadline: 15 June

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Committee members

  • Loretta Arellano, Chair
  • Joseph Lillie, Past Chair
  • Daniel Coode
  • Daniel Eghbal
  • Augusto Herrera
  • Pablo Herrero
  • Witold Kinsner
  • Luke R. Maki
  • Yong-Jin Park