Award information

The IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award was established in 1975 through a bequest made by the late Cledo Brunetti, who was an executive of the FMC Corporation.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: Brunetti Bequest

Presented to: An individual or a team of not more than three

Scope: For outstanding contributions to nanotechnology and technologies for microsystem miniaturization

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, a certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: innovation, development, social value, uniqueness of concept, other technical accomplishments, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting.  Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement. 

Award committee members

  • Dr. Guido Groeseneken, Chair
  • Dr. Jacobus Swart, Past Chair
  • Jamal Deen  
  • Kelin Jo-Kuhn
  • Leda Lunardi
  • Heike Riel
  • Akira Toriumi