Award information

The IEEE Control Systems Award was established by the Board of Directors in 1980.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: IEEE Control Systems Society

Presented to: An individual

Scope: For outstanding contributions to control systems engineering, science, or technology

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: seminal nature of the contribution, singular achievement, practical impact, breadth of contributions, depth of contributions, historical precedence, and quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement. 

Award committee members

  • Arthur J. Krener, Chair
  • Tamer Basar
  • Vivek Borkar
  • Helene Frankowska
  • Iven Mareels
  • Kirsten Morris
  • Rodolphe Sepulchre