Award information

The IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award was established in August 2008. 

Recipient selection is administered by the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society

Presented to: An individual, or to individuals on a team, or multiple recipients up to three in number

Scope: For outstanding contributions to the field of nuclear and plasma sciences and engineering

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and cash honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: importance of individual scientific contribution, importance of scientific contributions made by teams led by the candidate, seminal nature of the contribution, innovation/originality, societal benefit, impact on the profession, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation:  IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.  

Award committee members

  • Chan Joshi, Chair
  • Cinzia Da Via 
  • David Hammer
  • Michael Lieberman
  • Mary Ann Sweeney 
  • Glen Wells
  • Zhengtang Zhao