Award information

The IEEE Electronics Packaging Award was established in 2002.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Presented to: An individual or a team of not more than three

Scope: For outstanding contributions to advancing components, electronic packaging, or manufacturing technologies

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: enhancement of technology, impact on the relevant technical community and the profession, benefit to society, and the quality of the nomination. The technical field for this award includes all aspects of device and systems packaging, including packaging of microelectronics, optoelectronics, RF/wireless, and micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS).

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Sponsor: IEEE Electronics Packaging Society

Award committee members

  • Ricky Lee, Chair
  • Rozalia Beica
  • Tanja Braun
  • Xuejun Fan 
  • Paul Franzon
  • Michel Nakhla
  • Eric Perfecto