Award information

The IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing award was established in 2002.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: IEEE Signal Processing Society

Presented to: An individual or a team of not more than three

Scope: For an outstanding contribution to the advancement of speech and/or audio signal processing

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: impact on the fields of speech and/or audio processing technology, innovation, leadership, honors or seminal contributions, publications or patents, transition to practice, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Award committee members
  • Lori Lamel, CHair
  • Shigeru Katagiri, Past Chair
  • Keikichi Hirose
  • Lin-shan Lee
  • Maurizio Omologo
  • Bhuvana Ramabhadran
  • Richard Rose
Awards Nomination Deadlines
2018 IEEE Medal of Honor Recipient
IEEE Awards Social Media

Follow and engage with IEEE on the following sites:

Follow on FaceBook   Facebook

Twitter   Twitter

LinkedIn   LinkedIn

Instagram   Instagram