Award information

The IEEE Fourier Award for Signal Processing was established in 2012.

Sponsors: IEEE Signal Processing Society and the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society

Presented to: An individual or a team up to three in number

Scope: For an outstanding contribution to the advancement of signal processing, other than in the areas of speech and audio processing

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria will be considered: impact on the field of signal processing technology, including innovation; leadership; honors or seminal contributions as evidenced by publications or patents or transition to practice; and quality of nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Award committee members

  • Timothy N. Davidson, Chair
  • James H. McClellan, Past Chair
  • Ricardo de Queiroz
  • Athina Petropulu
  • Konstantinos N. Plataniotis
  • Carlo Regazzoni
  • Wan-Chi Siu