Award information

The IEEE Graduate Teaching Award was established by the Board of Directors in 1990 and renamed in honor of Leon K. Kirchmayer in 2002. Dr. Kirchmayer was well known and revered throughout the world for his commitment to students and education.

This award honors teachers of electrical and electronics engineering and the related disciplines.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: Leon K. Kirchmayer Memorial Fund

Presented to: An individual

Scope: For inspirational teaching of graduate students in the IEEE fields of interest

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: excellence in teaching graduate students, curriculum development with the inclusion of current research and development knowledge that reflects the state of the art in courses, authorship of course material for graduate students, involvement with and direction of students to prepare them for effective careers in engineering and the sciences, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Award committee members

  • Hai Helen Li, Chair
  • Laleh Behjat
  • Ersi Chorti
  • Christina Fragouli
  • Yong Jin Park
  • Jose Rodrigo Azambuja
  • Danghui Wang