Award information

The IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award was established in 1999. It replaced the IEEE Jack A. Morton Award in 2000. This award is named in honor of Andrew Grove's lifetime achievements, including helping to found Intel Corporation.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: IEEE Electron Devices Society

Presented to: An individual or multiple recipients up to three in number

Scope: For outstanding contributions to solid-state devices and technology

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: field leadership, contribution, originality, breadth, inventive value, publications, other achievements; society activities, honors, duration, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Award committee members

  • Herman Maes, Chair
  • Ilesanmi Adesida
  • Digh Hisamoto 
  • Montserrat Nafria 
  • Adelmo Ortiz-Conde 
  • Hidetoshi Wakabayashi
  • Huili Xing