Award information

The IEEE Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award was established in 1986 through an agreement between Herman Halperin and the Board of Directors of the IEEE. The funds were contributed by Herman and Edna Halperin and are administered by the IEEE Foundation, Inc.

From 1959 through 1986, the award for outstanding contributions to the field of electric transmission and distribution was named the William M. Habirshaw Award. Herman Halperin was a recipient of the Habirshaw Award in 1962. Mr. Halperin had a distinguished career with the Commonwealth Edison Company over a period of 40 years. Subsequently, he spent 15 years as a consulting engineer. He was particularly noted for his pioneering contributions to the design and operation of electric plant facilities and power cable systems.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Presented to: An individual or team of up to three in number

Scope: For outstanding contributions to electric transmission and distribution

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, a certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: technological importance, successful application, originality, leadership, publications, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Sponsors: Robert and Ruth Halperin Foundation, in memory of the late Herman and Edna Halperin, and IEEE Power & Energy Society

Award committee members

  • Jovica Milanovic, Chair
  • Maria Teresa Correia de Barros
  • Mariesa Crow 
  • Innocent Kamwa
  • Hugh Rudnick 
  • Lakshminarayana Satish
  • Vijay Vittal