Award information

The IEEE Masaru Ibuka Consumer Electronics Award was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in 1987.

The Award is named in honor of Dr. Masaru Ibuka, Honorary Chairman and Co-Founder of Sony Corporation, whose innovative achievements and leadership in state of the art and have been an inspiration to several generations of electrical, electronics, and computer engineers.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: Sony Corporation

Presented to: An individual or team of up to three

Scope: For outstanding contributions in the field of consumer electronics technology

Prize: The award consists of bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: technical innovation, creativity, quality, timeliness, societal benefit, technology enhancement associated with achievement(s), leadership and professional contributions of the individual(s) identifiable with the achievements, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement. 

Award recipients

Award committee members

  • Simon Sherratt, Chair
  • Lauren Christopher, Past Chair
  • Wahab Almuhtadi
  • Tohru Asami
  • Wendy Aylsworth
  • Gary Sullivan
  • Neil Weste