Award information

The IEEE Joseph F. Keithley Award in Instrumentation and Measurement was established in 2000. It has replaced the IEEE Morris E. Leeds Award.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: Keithley Instruments, a Tektronix Co., and the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society

Presented to: An individual or a team of not more than three

Scope: For outstanding contributions in electrical measurements

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and cash honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: originality (with particular emphasis on individual effort); quality (general benefit); influence (on other work in the field); breadth; standards or measurement instrumentation (physical, sensing, information processing, information retrieval and display, etc.); and quality of nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting.  Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Award committee members

  • Serge Demidenko, Chair
  • Jorge E. Fernandez Daher, Past Chair
  • Mihaela M Albu
  • Georg A. Brasseur
  • Melanie Ooi
  • Ferdinanda Ponci
  • Kamal Sarabandi