Award information

The IEEE Gustav Robert Kirchhoff Award was established in 2003.

This award is named for Gustav Robert Kirchhoff, a physicist who made important contributions to the theory of circuits, using topology, and to elasticity. Kirchhoff's laws allow calculation of currents, voltages, and resistances of electrical circuits extending the work of Ohm. His work on black body radiation was fundamental in the development of quantum theory.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: IEEE Circuits and Systems Society

Presented to: An individual or multiple recipients where all members of the group could be judged to have made a crucial contribution(s) to the overall outcome

Scope: For an outstanding contribution to the fundamentals of any aspect of electronic circuits and systems that has a long-term significance or impact

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: impact; perceived long-term and fundamental nature of the contribution(s); originality; publication of a significant and profound new and nonobvious result or an approach in a subject area that relates to the circuits and systems, but which has broader impact across other aspects of electronic or electrical engineering; patents; starting a company based on a fundamental contribution; and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Award committee members

  • Ljiljana Trajkovic, Chair
  • Russell Jacob (Jake) Baker    
  • Lucien Breems 
  • Paulo Diniz 
  • Kenneth Jenkins
  • Wolfgang Mathis
  • Takao Onoye