Award information

The IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award was established in 2005. It was established in memory of William E. Newell of the Westinghouse Research and Development Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Presented to: An individual only

Scope: For outstanding contributions to power electronics

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, sustained outstanding contributions in the following areas are considered: teaching of power electronics; innovative research or consulting endeavors; professional seminars; realization of major projects, major project or program management; impact on the power electronics profession; publications and patents; quality of the nomination.

The technical disciplines which encompass the field of power electronics include the analysis, design, development, simulation and application of electronic devices, magnetics, controls and power circuits for inverters, converters, and motor drives ranging in power level from fractions of a watt to megawatts.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Sponsor: IEEE Power Electronics Society

IEEE Power Electronics Society

Award committee members

  • Paolo Mattavelli, Chair
  • Dushan Boroyevich, Past Chair
  • Silva Hiti
  • Praveen Jain
  • Noriko Kawakami
  • Robert L. Steigerwald
  • Vlatko Vlatkovic