Award information

The IEEE Frederik Philips Award was established in 1971 through an agreement between N.V. Philips Gloeilampenfabrieken (now called Royal Philips) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: Royal Philips

Presented to: An individual or a team up to three

Scope: For outstanding accomplishments in the management of research and development resulting in effective innovation in the electrical and electronics industry

Prize: The award consists of bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: leadership in management, impact on innovation, personal contributions, technological impact, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement. 

Award committee members

  • Carlos Diaz, Chair
  • Jane Pei-Chen Chang
  • Hidetoshi Onodera
  • Joyce Poon
  • Heike Riel
  • Juzer Vasi
  • Ian Young