Award information

The IEEE Nikola Tesla Award was established in 1975 through an agreement between the IEEE Power Engineering Society and the IEEE Board of Directors.

The Award is named in honor of Nikola Tesla, an electrical engineer, a distinguished Yugoslav-American inventor, and a pioneer in many fields, who is most renowned for the development of the coil that bears his name and the a-c induction motor.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Presented to: An individual or a team up to three

Scope: For outstanding contributions to the generation and utilization of electric power

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, a certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: impact on technology, inventive value, breadth of use, leadership, and quality of the nomination.

"Generation" areas may include: automation, instrumentation, control, generation planning, alternative forms (e.g., wind, solar, fuel cells, and space power), conservation, safety, and reliability. "Utilization" areas may include: conservation, biomedical (e.g., MRI, focused ultrasound, etc.), life quality improvement for the handicapped, manufacturing systems, and robotronics.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.


Wolong Electric Group Co., Ltd.

IEEE Industry Applications Society

Award committee members

  • Annette Muetze, Chair
  • Kiruba Sivasubramaniam Haran, Past Chair
  • Ambrish Chandra 
  • Silva Hiti 
  • Innocent Kamwa
  • Yen-Shin Lai 
  • Jianxin Shen