Award information

The IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award was established in 2001 to recognize outstanding early to mid-career contributions to technologies holding the promise of innovative applications.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsors: The late Dr. Kiyo Tomiyasu, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society

Presented to: May be awarded to an individual, multiple recipients, or a team of not more than three, who received their highest academic degree no more than fifteen years prior to the year of original nomination, and not more than age forty-five at the time of the nomination, to any areas of IEEE interest that promise innovative applications. If the award is to be presented to a team, this restriction will apply to all. A nomination may be carried over for a maximum of three years based on the original nomination submission date.

Scope: For outstanding early to mid-career contributions to technologies holding the promise of innovative applications  

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: innovation or development, social value, uniqueness of concept, other technical accomplishments, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting.  Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Award committee members

  • Magdalena Salazar Palma, Chair
  • Yonina Eldar
  • Emilio Frazzoli
  • Santosh Kurinec 
  • Akira Toriumi
  • Ken Uchida
  • Felix Vega