Award information

The IEEE Transportation Technologies Award was established in 2011.

Presented to: An individual, a team, or multiple recipients up to three in number

Scope: For advances in technologies within the fields of interest to the IEEE as applied in transportation systems

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and cash honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria will be considered: impact on the profession and/or society; sustained technical or other contributions in monitoring, control, power, navigation, and/or communication as applied in transportation systems; leadership in accomplishing worthwhile goal(s); other achievements as evidenced by publications, patents, or other evidence; and quality of nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Sponsors: IEEE Industry Applications Society, IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society, IEEE Power Electronics Society, IEEE Power & Energy Society, IEEE Vehicular Technology Society

IEEE Industry Applications Society     IEEE Power Electronics Society    

Award committee members

  • Dong Tan, Chair
  • Iqbal Husain
  • Maryam Kaveshghar 
  • Yi Lu Murphey 
  • Cristina Olaverri 
  • Xuhui Wen 
  • Ke Wu