Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  Awards  >  TFAS






Award information

The IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award was established in 2001 to recognize outstanding early to mid-career contributions to technologies holding the promise of innovative applications.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsors: Dr. Kiyo Tomiyasu, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society

Presented to: An individual, multiple recipients or a team up to three in number. Candidates must be within fifteen years of their highest academic degree and not more than age forty-five at the time of the nomination. If this award is to be presented to a team, this restriction will apply to all.

Scope: For outstanding early to mid-career contributions to technologies holding the promise of innovative applications  

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: innovation or development, social value, uniqueness of concept, other technical accomplishments, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting.  Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.


top of page


Award nomination forms


top of page


Award recipients


top of page


Award committee members


  • Richard Jaeger, Chair
  • Kaustav Banerjee
  • Carlos Coello Coello
  • John A. Darringer
  • Lucian Stoica
  • Magdalena Salazar-Palma
  • Peter Tak Shing Yum



top of page