Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  Awards  >  TFAS






Award information

The IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award was established in August 2008. 

Recipient selection is administered by the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society

Presented to: An individual, or to individuals on a team, or multiple recipients up to three in number

Scope: For outstanding contributions to the field of nuclear and plasma sciences and engineering

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and cash honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: importance of individual scientific contribution, importance of scientific contributions made by teams led by the candidate, seminal nature of the contribution, innovation/originality, societal benefit, impact on the profession, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation:  IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.  


top of page


Award nomination forms


top of page


Award recipients


top of page


Award committee members

  • Ilan Ben-Zvi, Chair
  • Max Viergever, Past Chair
  • Christine Coverdale
  • Noah Hershkowitz
  • Weihua Jiang
  • Chan Joshi
  • Richard Kouzes


top of page