Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  Awards  >  TFAS






Award information

The IEEE Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award was established by the Board of Directors in 1979.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: IEEE Standards Association

Presented to: An individual

Scope: For exceptional contributions to the development and/or advancement of standards in electrical and electronics engineering

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: engineering and administrative accomplishment and responsibilities, publications (books, standards, papers, conference); honors; supporting letters; IEEE Activities, other organizations, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.


top of page


Award nomination forms


top of page


Award recipients


top of page


Award committee members

  • Pamela Kumar, Chair
  • Peter Balma, Past Chair
  • H. Landis Floyd
  • Kishik Park
  • Glenn W. Parsons
  • Annette D. Reilly
  • Adrian Stephens


top of page