2024 IEEE President-Elect Candidates

Below are the 2024 IEEE President-Elect candidates (listed in alphabetical order):

  • Roger Fujii (Nominated by IEEE Board of Directors)
  • Kathleen A. Kramer (Nominated by IEEE Board of Directors)


IEEE members who want to run for an office and have not been nominated need to submit their petition intention to the IEEE Board of Directors. 

Petition intention deadlines:

  • 1 January 2023 (12:00 noon ET/17:00 UTC) for IEEE President-Elect candidate petitions 
  • 15 April 2023 for all positions on the IEEE Annual Election ballot


Send the petitions and questions to elections@ieee.org.

2022 IEEE Annual Election Results

Headshot of Thomas Coughlin

7 October 2022 - Thomas M. Coughlin has been elected as the 2023 IEEE President-Elect. Coughlin will begin serving as IEEE President-Elect on 1 January 2023. He will succeed 2023 IEEE President Saifur Rahman. The other candidates for IEEE President-Elect were Maike Luiken, Kazuhiro Kosuge, and Kathleen A. Kramer.

The proposed amendment to the IEEE Constitution received the number of votes necessary for adoption.

 View the complete 2022 IEEE Annual Election results

Update your contact information and communication preferences

Update your member contact information and election communication preferences.

To avoid potential delays, members are encouraged to select electronic voting preferences, if possible. 

2023 Election Deadlines at a Glance

1 January 2023
The last day for individual voting members to submit their intention to petition for the office of IEEE President-Elect for the 2023 IEEE Annual Election. The petition intention must be accompanied by a statement that they are willing to serve if elected and it must be received by 12:00 noon EDT USA/17:00 UTC.

15 March 2023
Deadline for the IEEE Board of Directors to receive the slate of nominated candidates for inclusion in the 2023 IEEE Annual Election. 

14 April 2023
The last day for the collection of petition signatures for the office of 2024 IEEE President-Elect and member-initiated Constitutional Amendment petitions. Signatures must be received by 12:00 noon EDT USA/16:00 UTC.

15 April 2023
Deadline for submitting an intention to file a petition to run for other office positions on the annual election ballot. 

1 May 2023
IEEE Board of Directors submits to the voting membership a list of nominees for IEEE president-elect, delegate-elect/director-elect, as applicable, and other positions to be elected by voting members for the coming term. 

12 May 2023
Signed petitions nominating an individual for placement on the annual election ballot must be received by 12:00 noon EDT USA/16:00 UTC.

30 June 2023
Ballots will be created for eligible voting members on record.

15 August 2023
Balloting for the 2023 IEEE Annual Election begins. Eligible voting members on record as of 30 June may access their ballot electronically. Print ballot packages will be provided to voters in accordance with their election communication preferences as of 30 June.

2 October 2023
Balloting ends for the 2023 IEEE Annual Election at 12:00 noon EDT USA/16:00 UTC.