The voting membership of IEEE annually elects officers that serve on the top-tier IEEE governing bodies. The candidates comprise of members who have been nominated either by the nominating committee for that position or by petition.

The IEEE Board of Directors nominates candidates for IEEE President-Elect, and divisional and regional nominating committees nominate the candidates for the Division and Region Director positions. The annual ballot also includes candidates for positions in the IEEE Standards Association, IEEE Technical Activities, and IEEE-USA. 

In accordance with IEEE Bylaw I-307 Nominations and Elections, individual voting members may propose, by petition, names to be added to the ballot for the offices that appear on the IEEE annual election ballot.

The candidate position listing order was pre-determined by lottery and indicates no preference. 

2023 IEEE Division Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect

IEEE Division I

IEEE Division III

  • Stefano Bregni (Nominated by IEEE Division III)
  • Vincent W. Chan (Nominated by Petition)
  • Wahab Almuhtadi (Nominated by IEEE Division III)
    View candidate biographies

IEEE Division V

  • Dejan S. Milojicic (Nominated by IEEE Division V)
  • Christina M. Schober (Nominated by IEEE Division V)
    View candidate biographies


IEEE Division VII


IEEE Division IX

  • Aylin Yener (Nominated by IEEE Division IX)
  • Ahmed Tewfik (Nominated by IEEE Division IX)
  • Walter D. Downing (Nominated by IEEE Division IX)
    View candidate biographies

2023-2024 IEEE Region Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect

IEEE Region 2 (Eastern USA)


IEEE Region 4 (Central USA)

  • Tarek Lahdhiri (Nominated by IEEE Region 4)
  • Hamid Vakilzadian (Nominated by IEEE Region 4)
  • Constance A. Kelly (Nominated by IEEE Region 4)
    View candidate biographies


IEEE Region 6 (Western USA)


IEEE Region 8 (Africa, Europe, Middle East)


IEEE Region 10 (Asia and Pacific)

  • Takako Hashimoto (Nominated by IEEE Region 10)
  • Ling Chuen "Michael" Ong (Nominated by IEEE Region 10)
    View candidate biographies

2023-2024 IEEE Standards Association Board of Governors Member-at-Large

Position 1:

  • David T. Chen (Nominated by IEEE Standards Association)
  • Kishik Park (Nominated by IEEE Standards Association)


Position 2:

  • Sha Wei (Nominated by IEEE Standards Association)
  • Dorothy V. Stanley (Nominated by IEEE Standards Association)

View candidate biographies

2023 IEEE Technical Activities Vice President-Elect

  • Manfred "Fred" J. Schindler (Nominated by IEEE Technical Activities)
  • Rakesh Kumar (Nominated by IEEE Technical Activities)
    View candidate biographies

2023 IEEE-USA President-Elect