Below is the candidate for IEEE Division I Delegate, 2020-2021

Division I:

  • Circuits and Systems Society
  • Electron Devices Society
  • Solid-State Circuits Society

Alfred E. Dunlop

Headshot of Alfred E. Dunlop

(Nominated by IEEE Assembly)
Pilot Knob, New York, USA
Dr. Dunlop received his BEE from the University of Delaware, MSEE and PhD from Carnegie-Mellon University in 1975, 1977 and 1979 respectively.  He holds 14 patents in the areas of circuit design, system initialization and algorithms.

Since 2001, he has been president of Crossbow Consulting, LLC where he has worked for clients on topics including circuit design, system architecture, system startup and Electronic Design Automation (EDA).

He was founder and VP of Engineering at a startup 2002.

Dr. Dunlop worked at Bell Laboratories 25 years where he held research and development positions.  He was responsible for the IC layout tools in the mid 1980s.  He later built clock recovery circuits for packet systems.  In research, he held the position of Director of Design Principles Research and later Director of Optical Data Systems Research before retiring in 2001.   
IEEE Accomplishments and Activities

COMMITTEES/BOARDS: Technical Activities Board, Member, 2005-2007; TAB Periodicals Packages Committee, Chair, 2007-2008; TAB/PSPB Products & Services Committee, Member, 2007-2008; Transnational Committee, Member, 2007; TAB-Ethics and Conflict Resolution Committee, Member, 2007; TAB-Finance Committee, Member, 2008-2009; TAB-Management Committee (TMC), Member, 2010-2012; TMC-Business Plan Ad Hoc, Chair, 2010-2012; TMC-Structure Ad Hoc, Member, 2011; IEEE-Members Dues, Member, 2011-2012; IEEE Board of Directors: Division I DirectorElect 2019, Division I Director, 2020-2021.

SECTION/CHAPTER: Schenectady Section, Member, since 2003.

SOCIETY/COUNCIL: Circuits and Systems Society (CAS): IEEE Transactions on Computer Aided Design of Circuits and Systems (TCAD), Editor, 1990-1992; AdCom, 1988-1990; Board of Governors, 1997-1999; Vice President Regions 1-6, 2000; Board of Governors, 2003-2005.  Council on Electronic Design Automation: President (Founding President), 2005-2007; Head Nominations and Appointments Committee, 2008-2009; Awards Committee, Kaufman Committee, Nominations and Appointments Committee, Conference Committee, 2010-2011.

CONFERENCES:  International Conference on Computer Aided Design, Program Committee, 1986-1991. Hardware-Software Co-Design Workshop, Co-General Chair, 1992.  Design Automation Conference: Program Committee, 1986-1989; Technical Program Chair, 1990-1991; General Chair (over 16000 badges printed), 1993; Executive Committee, 1990-1994, 2003-2005, 2010-2012.

I have worked with others to:

  1. Co-found the Council on Electronic Design Automation.  I served as its first president.
  2. Chair the Periodicals Package Committee, monitoring on-line publications revenue and distribution of revenue in as fair a way as possible.
  3. Close down wasteful internal committees and to eliminate superfluous meetings.
  4. Serve as General Chair for conferences spanning sizes from 50 to almost 4000 attendees and as Editor-in-Chief, Associate Editor and Special Issue Editor for Transactions.
  5. Served numerous Society/Council roles and used the knowledge gained to oversee Societies and Councils that are heading into financial difficulties, and create the processes and document the process for the creation of new Societies and Councils.


IEEE needs knowledgeable and principled reasoning at the Assembly and Board of Directors level. I will work with other members of the board to think strategically with value and integrity in order to benefit members and technical communities related to electrical engineering and related fields.

IEEE needs to be the central organization for all topics related to electrical engineering and associated disciplines.

As such, we need to:

  1. review the way we charge and expense (both internally and externally) to deliver value to the technical community we serve,
  2. find new ways to attract people to read and use our scholarly papers,
  3. nurture researchers and practitioners in their careers,
  4. be the place to get papers published,
  5. and ultimately make membership desirable for at least half the people who work or study topics in electrical engineering and related fields. I think we need to change the current membership model to make this work. To not do so holds IEEE back and makes it seem unfriendly.