Skip Navigation

Home  >  About IEEE  >  Corporate  >  Election





The voting membership of IEEE annually elects officers that serve on the top-tier IEEE governing bodies.


Up for election in 2016

Chosen by all voting members

  • IEEE President-Elect

Chosen by members of all technical societies

  • IEEE Technical Activities Vice President-Elect

Chosen by members of the respective technical divisions

  • IEEE Division I Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect
  • IEEE Division III Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect
  • IEEE Division V Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect
  • IEEE Division VII Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect
  • IEEE Division IX Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect

Chosen by members of the respective regions

  • IEEE Region 2 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect
  • IEEE Region 4 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect
  • IEEE Region 6 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect
  • IEEE Region 8 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect
  • IEEE Region 10 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect

Chosen by members in Regions 1–6

  • IEEE-USA President-Elect
  • IEEE-USA Member-at-Large

Chosen by members of the IEEE Standards Association

  • Standards Association Board of Governors Member-at-Large

top of page


Deadlines at a glance

  • 15 March: Deadline for organizational units to submit slates of candidates to the IEEE Board of Directors for inclusion on the annual election ballot.
  • 15 April: Deadline for submitting an intention to file a petition to run for an office on the annual election ballot.
  • 1 May: IEEE Board of Directors submits to the voting membership a list of nominees for IEEE President-Elect, Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, as applicable, and other positions to be elected by voting members for the coming term. The board also announces whether it intends to put forward any constitutional amendments.
  • 13 May: Signed petitions nominating an individual for placement on the annual election ballot must be received by 12:00 p.m. ET/16:00 UTC.
  • 15 August: Annual election ballots are sent to all voting members on record as of 30 June. Voters may also begin accessing their ballots electronically.
  • 3 October: Ballots must be received by 1:00 p.m. ET/17:00 UTC.



top of page


IEEE members selected Karen Bartleson as 2016 IEEE President-Elect

Karen Bartleson (Nominated by IEEE Board of Directors)

9 October – Karen Bartleson, Senior Director of Corporate Programs and Initiatives, Synopsys,  Mountain View, CA, USA has been selected as the 2016 IEEE President-Elect. Pending acceptance of the IEEE Teller’s Committee report by the IEEE Board of Directors on 22-23 November, Bartleson will begin serving as IEEE President on 1 January 2017. She will succeed 2016 IEEE President Barry L. Shoop, U.S. Military Academy, West Point, New York, USA. The other candidate for 2016 IEEE President was Frederick “Fred” C. Mintzer, IBM (retired), Yorktown Heights, New York, USA (nominated by IEEE Board of Directors).

Of the members who voted, 22,367 selected Karen Bartleson, 17,887 selected Frederick “Fred” C. Mintzer.



top of page