The voting membership of IEEE annually elects officers that serve on the top-tier IEEE governing bodies.

2018 Election deadlines
  • 15 March
    Deadline for organizational units to submit slates of candidates to the IEEE Board of Directors for inclusion on the annual election ballot.
  • 15 April
    Deadline for submitting an intention to file a petition to run for an office on the annual election ballot.
  • 1 May
    IEEE Board of Directors submits to the voting membership a list of nominees for IEEE president-elect, delegate-elect/director-elect, as applicable, and other positions to be elected by voting members for the coming term. The Board also announces whether it intends to put forward any constitutional amendments.
  • 11 May
    Signed petitions nominating an individual for placement on the annual election ballot must be received by noon EDT USA/16:00 UTC.
  • 15 August
    Annual election ballots are sent to all voting members on record as of 30 June. Voters also may begin accessing their ballots electronically.
  • 1 October
    Ballots must be received by 1 p.m. EDT USA/17:00 UTC.