IEEE Members Elected K. J. Ray Liu as 2021 IEEE President-Elect


12 October – K. J. Ray Liu, IEEE Fellow, was elected as the 2021 IEEE President-Elect. Ray will begin serving as IEEE President on 1 January 2022. He will succeed 2021 IEEE President Susan K. “Kathy” Land. The other candidates for IEEE President-Elect were Saifur Rahman and S.K. Ramesh.


View the complete 2020 IEEE Annual Election results (PDF, 183 KB)

Update your contact information and communication preferences

2021 IEEE Annual Election Deadlines at a Glance

15 March 2021

Deadline for organizational units to submit slates of candidates to the IEEE Board of Directors for inclusion on the annual election ballot.

15 April 2021

Deadline for submitting an intention to file a petition to run for an office on the annual election ballot.

1 May 2021

IEEE Board of Directors submits to the voting membership a list of nominees for IEEE president-elect, delegate-elect/director-elect, as applicable, and other positions to be elected by voting members for the coming term. The Board also announces whether it intends to put forward any constitutional amendments.

14 May 2021

Signed petitions nominating an individual for placement on the annual election ballot must be received by 12:00 p.m. EDT USA/16:00 UTC.

30 June 2021

Ballots will be created for eligible voting members on record

16 August 2021

Annual election ballots are sent to all voting members on record as of 30 June. Voters also may begin accessing their ballots electronically.

1 October 2021

Ballots must be received by 12:00 p.m. EDT USA/16:00 UTC.