About the IEEE History Committee

The History Committee, a committee of the IEEE Board of Directors, is responsible for promoting the collection, writing, and dissemination of historical information in the fields covered by IEEE technical and professional activities, as well as historical information about IEEE and its predecessor organizations. It provides assistance to all major organizational units, works with institutions of a public nature such as the Smithsonian Institution when helpful information is requested and can be secured, and provides information and recommendations to the IEEE Board of Directors when appropriate. The History Committee members will also review nominations for IEEE Milestones, books submitted for the J&W Middleton Electrical Engineering History Award, and scholarship applications.

2021 IEEE History Committee members

  • Janina Mazierska, chair
  • Brian Berg
  • Amy Bix
  • Robert Dent
  • Mislav Grgic
  • David Kemp
  • Philip Krein
  • Vasudevan Lashminarayanan    
  • David Michelson 
  • Ranjit Nair 
  • Michael Polis 
  • Celia Shahnaz 
  • Enrique Tejera 
  • John Vardalas