The Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize

The Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize (formerly the IEEE Life Members’ Prize in Electrical History) was established by the IEEE Life Members (who fund the prize) and is administered by the Society for the History of Technology. The prize recognizes the best paper in electrical history published during the previous year. Any article published in a learned periodical is eligible if it treats the art or engineering aspects of electrotechnology and its practitioners. The article must be written in English, although the journal or periodical in which it appears may be a foreign language publication. The prize consists of a cash award of $1,000 and a certificate. In addition, IEEE will provide a travel subsidy ($750 domestic, $1,000 international) to allow the winner to attend SHOT’s annual meeting, and SHOT will waive the basic registration and awards-banquet fees for the winner.

The committee invites submissions for the Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize, which will be presented at the Society's annual meeting.

For more information, including a list of previous winners, please see the The Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize SHOT webpage.